Tips & Tricks

Learn new new tips, tricks, and shortcuts for making your Skype experience even better

Share

Share

Out With The Old, In With The New – Managing Your Skype History

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I use instant messages to remember important information. But I often see questions come through from users who are looking to delete single messages, entire chats or the contents of Skype Home. January is a good month for starting afresh so I’ll dedicate this post to telling you how to do those three things.

I’ll focus on Skype for Windows desktop here, but if you’d like more info for other devices, let me know in the comments or ask your question in the Skype Community.

Removing a single message

We’ve all been there, you send someone a question and just as you hit enter you figure out the answer for yourself. To save your friend from having to tell you what you already know, you can remove that one message before they see it.

Remove message

To remove a message, simply right click it with your mouse or press and hold on a touch screen and select Remove Message. It’s worth noting that you can only remove messages for a limited period of time after they’re sent.

Tip: If you’ve just made a typo and want to correct it, you can press the Up arrow on your keyboard to edit your last sent message

Clearing your entire chat history

If you want to get a bit more radical and clear out your entire chat history then we’ve got you covered there too. To clear your entire chat history:

  1. Open Skype.
  2. On the menu bar, select Tools and then Options…
  3. Select Clear history.

Clear history

  1. Select Delete in the dialogue box that appears.

Tip: If you don’t want to keep your history, you can select no history in the drop down menu next to the Clear history button

Clearing the contents of Skype Home

Skype Home is the place to go to find out what your friends are thinking. You’ll see their latest mood messages at a glance and set a mood message of your own. This content updates automatically with your friends’ activity and shouldn’t need to be cleared.

If, however, you do want to erase the contents of Skype Home there is a way. You will need to get under the bonnet of Skype though so only attempt this if you’re confident of your tech skills.

  1. Close Skype. To do this, simply right-click the Skype icon in the system tray at the bottom right of the screen, then select Quit.
  2. Hold the Windows key on your keyboard and press R.
  3.  Type %appdata%\skype in the Run dialog box, then click OK.
  4. Select the folder with your Skype Name and open it.
  5. In the folder, locate the keyval.db file, then delete or rename it.

5 thoughts on “Out With The Old, In With The New – Managing Your Skype History

  1. Thank you so much, this worked a treat I have been trying to solve this for ages.

  2. is my version different? l’m using win 8 with google chrome browser, or am l that stupid?..l can’t even find the menu bar in skype.com

    • Shana Pearlman said 6 months ago

      Hi Sam, which version of the client are you using, Skype for Windows desktop or Skype for modern Windows? Best, Shana from Skype.

  3. I am having the same problem in Skype that comes already installed on windows 8

    • Matthew de Beer said 2 months ago

      Hi Lizzie,

      What problem would that be, hopefully I can help.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s